Dedham's Cultural Council was created under State legislation (MGL Chapter 10, Section 58) defining local and regional cultural councils. The local council works to promote the arts and distributes funds made available through the Massachusetts Cultural Council.

Grant funding may be available for community-oriented arts, humanities, and science programs. Organizations, schools, and individuals may be eligible to apply. Grants can support artistic projects and activities, including exhibits, festivals, field trips, short-term artist residencies, lectures, workshops, or performances.


The Cultural Council has up to 22 members who have demonstrated scholarship, creativity or service in the arts. All members are appointed by the Board of Selectmen and serve staggered, 3-year terms. Current members include:

 Patricia Dorsey Co-chair  2020 
Beca Gates Co-chair  2020 
Virginia Brobst Treasurer  2020 
Jan Civian Member 2020 
Meg Duncan Member  2019 
Sharyn Duncan Member 2019 
Gretje Ferguson Member  2019 
Barbara Gula Member  2020 
Virginia Hickey-Ferentinos Member  2018 
Stephanie Thurrott Member  2018 
Margaret Whitfield Member  2018 


Town boards and committees consist of volunteers who may not be available during business hours. If you need a response during business hours, please contact the Town Manager's Office.


Public meeting dates and times are posted at Town Hall and the Dedham Public Library at least 48 hours before each meeting in compliance with the Massachusetts Open Meeting Law. Meeting agendas will also be posted on this website.