Dedham Historic Districts map

The Historic Districts Commission oversees historic preservation, contextual compliance, and design review within the Town's designated local historic districts., as defined in Town Bylaw Chapter 168 and Chapter 40C of Massachusetts General Laws.

Three districts have been recognized for their historic and architectural significance:

  • Franklin Square-Court Street District, also known as the Dedham Village Historic District, 
  • Connecticut Corner District, and
  • Federal Hill District.


The Historic Districts Commission has seven members who serve 3-year terms. All members are appointed by the Board of Selectmen. Members must have professional expertise in architecture, conservation, finance, history, historic preservation, law or local real estate. 

Current members include:

 Stanton A. Lyman  Chair
 Margaret F. Cabot  Member
 Lynn A. Fairbank  Member
 Andrea M. Gilmore  Member
 Kevin F. Hampe  Member
 Alexander K. Leith   Member
 Judith A. Neiswander  Member
 Robert B. Hansen, Chair Emeritus


Town boards and committees consist of volunteers who may not be available during business hours. If you need a response during business hours, please contact the Town Manager's Office.


Public meeting dates and times are posted at Town Hall and the Dedham Public Library at least 48 hours before each meeting in compliance with the Massachusetts Open Meeting Law. Meeting agendas will also be posted on this website.