View Dedham updates on COVID-19. Town Hall remains closed to the public until further notice, but Town staff are providing services remotely.


Election Dates

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Election Calendar

Important Update on new town election date!

**The Spring Annual Town Election Scheduled for Saturday April 11th has Been Postponed by the Dedham Select Board. The Board will at their June 4th Meeting select a new tentative date for June 27th. More info to follow..

View or Download the 2020 Election Calendar here

Mass State Primary Tuesday September 1st 2020

Presidential Election Tuesday November 3rd 2020

Special Elections

In instances where an elected official resigns, dies, or is removed from office prior to the expiration of their term, at any level of government, there may be a special election to elect someone to finish the remainder of the term. A special election may run concurrent with a regular election for other offices (or even the same office) if the timing is right. The laws on special elections depend on the office, and are outlined in M.G.L. c. 54, §140 through 147.

Annual Town Elections

Town elections are held annually on the second Saturday of April. Elected Town offices are staggered for balance and there are several boards and committees elected. All Town offices are non-partisan, meaning no political party affiliation is listed on the ballot and no primary elections are held. All Town offices are elected at-large, with the exception of Town Meeting members, who are elected by voting precinct. Winners of Town elections must be sworn-in by the Town Clerk, but assume office as of their election. The following offices are voted on during Annual Town Elections:

OFFICE Number of Seats Term (YEARS)
Board of Selectmen
5 3
Board of Assessors 3 3
Board of Health 3 3
Board of Library Trustees 5 3
Commissioners of Trust Funds 5 3
Housing Authority 5 5
Parks & Recreation Commission 5 3
Planning Board 5 5
School Committee 7 3
Town Clerk 1 3
Town Meeting Member 270 1-3
Town Moderator 1 3

State Elections

Elections for all other offices are regularly scheduled for the first Tuesday in November every even-numbered year. These are State Elections because the Commonwealth of Massachusetts is responsible for conducting the election and recording the results. The offices listed on these ballots are partisan, displaying a candidate's political party affiliation next to or below their name. The only exceptions to this are the seats on the Regional Vocational School Committee.

Partisan elections require primary elections, where candidates for office are featured on separate ballots based on party to determine their party's nominee for the general election. The State Primary is typically the first or second Tuesday of September every even-numbered year, while the Presidential Primary is typically on the first Tuesday in March ("Super Tuesday") every four years. The winners in State Elections take office in January of the year following their election. The following is a list of offices feature on State Election ballots:

OFFICE LEVEL Constituency Term (YEARS)
President / Vice President Federal United States 4
U.S. Senator Federal Massachusetts 6
U.S. Congressman Federal Massachusetts 8th District 2
Governor / Lieutenant Governor State Massachusetts 4
Secretary of the Commonwealth State Massachusetts 4
Attorney General State Massachusetts 4
Treasurer and Receiver-General State Massachusetts 4
Auditor State Massachusetts 4
Governor's Councillor State 2nd District 2
State Senator State Norfolk & Suffolk District 2
State Representative State 11th Norfolk District 2
County Commissioner County Norfolk County 4
District Attorney County Norfolk County 4
Sheriff County Norfolk County 6
Clerk of Courts County Norfolk County 4
County Treasurer County Norfolk County 6
Register of Deeds County Norfolk County 4
Register of Probate County Norfolk County 4
Regional Vocational School Committee County Avon, Braintree, Canton,
Dedham, Holbrook, Milton,
Norwood, Randolph, Westwood