UPDATE: Town Hall will remain closed to the public until Monday, May 4, per Gov. Baker's emergency order of 3/31. Town staff will continue providing services remotely. See more information.

The Bylaw Review Committee reviews all proposed amendments to Town Bylaws, except those related to Town employees' and land use and zoning matters, as defined by Town Bylaw Chapter 85, Section 31. The Committee makes recommendations about proposed bylaws prior to their enactment by Town Meeting. 


The Bylaw Review Committee has at least five members, all registered voters in Dedham, who are appointed by the Town Moderator. The Committee must include at least one attorney and one district chair, provided a majority of the members are Town Meeting representatives. Members generally serve 3-year terms, with an equal number of terms expiring each year (as much as possible).

Current members include:

NAME ROLE Position Term
Russell Poole Chair   At-large 2021
Bob Young Vice Chair   Attorney 2020
Brian M.B. Keaney Clerk & Secretary   At-large 2020
Jonathan Pape Member   At-large 2021
Frederick Civian Member   District Chair 2021


Town boards and committees are staffed by volunteers who may not be available during business hours. If you need a response during business hours, please contact the Town Manager's office. 


The Bylaw Review Committee meets as needed. Public meeting dates and times are posted at Town Hall and the Dedham Public Library at least 48 hours before each meeting in compliance with the Massachusetts Open Meeting Law. Meeting agendas will also be posted on this website.



The Board of Assessors meets on the third Thursday of each month, but not on even-numbered days.