View Dedham updates on COVID-19. Town Hall remains closed to the public until further notice, but Town staff are providing services remotely.


Other Elected Officials

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

In addition to the Town officials who represent you, there are a number of other officials you may want to contact at the town, county, state, and federal levels.

These officials are differentiated based on their area of authority, powers, and branch of government (legislative, judicial, or executive). The legislative branch creates laws, the judicial branch interprets laws, and the executive branch executes laws.

All levels of government are responsible for infrastructure, public safety, roads, and tax collection. Federal and state government regulate interstate commerce, charter banks, and preserve land. Local and state government together have most of the say over public education and conduct elections.


The Town, like all aspects of government, is in-charge of a lot, including: electricity and gas, first responders, recreation, waste management, and water. The principle authority for the Town of Dedham is the Board of Selectmen, a five-member body elected at-large by Town voters. The Board appoints the Town Manager, who oversees the daily operations of the Town. While elections for offices at other levels of government are held on the first Tuesday in November, Town elections are held annually on the second Saturday of April.


Dedham is located in Norfolk County, along with twenty-seven other communities. Dedham serves as the county seat, meaning that the county government is headquartered in Town, though there are some county offices in Canton. The county government maintains land records, operates vocational education, maintains Trial Court facilities, conserves land, and conducts volunteer programs. Dedham is home to important courthouses maintained by the county, with a directory of them maintained by the Commonwealth. County offices are for four years, with the exception of Sherriff which is a six-year term.

County Commissioners
Francis W. O’Brien, Chairman
Joseph P. Shea
Peter H. Collins
(781) 461-6105
Norfolk County Commissioners' Office
614 High Street
Dedham, MA 02026
County Treasurer District Attorney Sheriff
James E. Timilty Michael Morrissey Robert Harnais
(781) 461-6110 (781) 830-4800 (781) 329-3705
Norfolk County Treasurer's Office Norfolk County District Attorney's Office Norfolk County Sheriff's Office
614 High Street 45 Shawmut Road
200 West St
Dedham, MA 02026 Canton, MA 02021 Dedham, MA 02026
Clerk of Courts Register of Deeds Register of Probate
Walter F. Timilty
William P. O’Donnell Patrick W. McDermott
(781) 326-1600 (781) 461-6101 (781) 830-1200
Norfolk County Superior Court Norfolk County Registry of Deeds Norfolk County Probate and Family Court
650 High Street 649 High Street
35 Shawmut Road
Dedham, MA 02026 Dedham, MA 02026 Canton, MA 02021


Both the Town of Dedham and Norfolk County derive their authority from the state, properly known as the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. The state has most sole control over licensing, health care, automotive regulations, regulates state commerce, and allowing local government powers. All executive, statewide offices are up every four years, falling on even-numbered years that are not presidential election years. Governor's Councillor, State Senator, and State Representative are elected every two years.

Governor Lieutenant Governor Secretary of The Commonwealth
Charles D. Baker Karyn Polito William F. Galvin
(617) 725-4005 (617) 725-4005
(617) 727-7030
Room 280 Room 280 Room 1611
Massachusetts State House Massachusetts State House John W. McCormack Building
24 Beacon St 24 Beacon St 1 Ashburton Pl
Boston, MA 02133 Boston, MA 02133 Boston, MA 02108
Attorney General Treasurer and ReceIver-General Auditor
Maura T. Healey Deborah B. Goldberg Suzanne M. Bump
(617) 727-2200 (617) 367-6900 (617) 727-2075
20th Floor Room 227 Room 230
John W. McCormack Building Massachusetts State House Massachusetts State House
1 Ashburton Pl 24 Beacon St
24 Beacon St
Boston, MA 02108 Boston, MA 02133 Boston, MA 02133
Governor's councillor State Senator State Representative
Robert L. Jubinville
Michael F. Rush Paul McMurtry
617-725-4015, ext. 2 (617) 722-1348 (617) 722-2015
Room 360 Room 511-C Room 171
Massachusetts State House Massachusetts State House Massachusetts State House
24 Beacon Street 24 Beacon Street
24 Beacon Street
Boston, MA 02133 Boston, MA 02133 Boston, MA 02133


The state shares the bulk of governing with the United States federal government. The federal government alone maintains the military, runs the Post Office, establishes foreign policy, conducts trade, and establishes copyright and patent laws. The President is elected every four years on leap years. U.S. Senators are elected for six-year terms (staggered) to the U.S. Senate. U.S. Congressmen are elected every two years to the U.S. House of Representatives.

President of the United StateS
Donald J. Trump
(202) 456-1111
The White House
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20500
U.S. Senator
(Class I)
U.S. Senator
(Class II)
U.S. Congressman
Elizabeth A. Warren
Edward J. Markey Stephen F. Lynch
(617) 565-3170 (617) 565-8519 (617) 657-6305
2400 JFK Federal Building 975 JFK Federal Building Suite 41
15 New Sudbury Street 15 New Sudbury Street
1245 Hancock Street
Boston, MA 02203 Boston, MA 02203 Quincy, MA 02169
(202) 224-4543 (202) 224-2742 (202) 225-8273
317 Hart Senate Office Building 255 Dirksen Senate Office Building 2268 Rayburn House Office Building
120 Constitution Ave NE 50 Constitution Ave NE
45 Independence Ave SW
Washington, DC 20510 Washington, D.C. 20002 Washington, D.C. 20515