UPDATE: Town Hall will remain closed to the public until Monday, May 4, per Gov. Baker's emergency order of 3/31. Town staff will continue providing services remotely. See more information.

The Sustainability Advisory Committee advises the Board of Selectmen, municipal departments and committees, and residents on strategies for advancing our local commitment to sound environmental practices both today and for our town’s future. These include:

  • education initiatives,
  • environmentally sensitive building and planning,
  • renewable energy choices by residential, commercial and municipal properties,

and other practices that help Dedham address the impact of pollution and climate change.


The Sustainability Advisory Committee has seven members who serve 3 year terms. All members are appointed by the Board of Selectmen. Current members include:

 John Gorham  Chair 2019 
 Chuck Kabat  Vice Chair 2020 

 Leigh Hafrey

 Secretary 2020 
 Deb Harrison  Member 2020 
Andrew Belden  Member 2022 
 Matt Simonson  Member 2020 

 Emily Walton

 Member 2020 


Town boards and committees consist of volunteers who may not be available during business hours. If you need a response during business hours, please contact the Environmental Department.


The Sustainability Advisory Committee meets the 2nd Wednesday of each month. Public meeting dates and times are posted at Town Hall and the Dedham Public Library at least 48 hours before each meeting in compliance with the Massachusetts Open Meeting Law. Meeting agendas will also be posted on this website.


View the Sustainability Advisory Committee Goals for 2016/2017