The Zoning Board of Appeals (ZBA) hears petitions:

  • for appeal to either affirm or reverse the actions of the Building Commissioner or Planning Board;
  • for variances or special permits which are required under the Town's Zoning Bylaw; and
  • for waivers required under the Town's Sign Bylaw.

The Board functions in accordance with Chapter 40A of the Massachusetts General Laws.

The Board publishes, posts, and notifies the public at large and abutters regarding properties and petitions. Its deliberations and decisions are rendered in open meeting and in accordance with Town Bylaws and State law.


The Zoning Board of Appeals has five members. All members are appointed by the Board of Selectmen. Current members include:

James F. McGrail, Esq. Chair 2020
J. Gregory Jacobsen Vice Chair 2021
Scott M. Steeves Member 2024
Jason L. Mammone, PE Member 2024
 Sara Rosenthal, AIA, LEED AP, NCARB   Member 2024
 George Panagopoulos  Associate Member 2020
Andrew Pepoli   Associate Member  2020


Town boards and committees consist of volunteers who may not be available during business hours. If you need a response during business hours, please contact the Planning & Zoning Department.


The Zoning Board of Appeals typically meets on the third Wednesday of the month. Public meeting dates and times are posted at Town Hall and the Dedham Public Library at least 48 hours before each meeting in compliance with the Massachusetts Open Meeting Law. Meeting agendas will also be posted on this website. Please our comprehensive meeting schedule for precise meeting dates and application deadlines.